Posted in Animated Movies

Plans for Brought to Life

For the next couple of weeks leading into the next month, I’d like to take a look at Studio Ghibli’s works – a talented 2D animation studio headed by Hayao Miyazaki (you may have heard of him – the man who’s done movies like Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, or Howl’s Moving Castle). But there is another: a man named Isao Takahata, who cofounded Studio Ghibli with him, and someone who has made his own series of great films. I’d like to take a look at some of their movies, and maybe go into their founding if I can.

After that, I’ll transition into SPOOKY animated movies for the month of October, since Halloween will be coming upon us very soon! I may come back to the Ghibli films eventually, though!

Look out for these movies:

  1. Castle in the Sky – It had been so long since I had watched this, I’d like to take another look at it from an older perspective! 
  2. Tale of Princess Kaguya – I’ve never watched this before, so I’m excited!It has a beautiful art style!
  3. My Neighbor Totoro – I’ve watched this once before, and I’d like to take a look at how divisive a film it can be.
  4. Unknown 4th Ghibli Movie – I’ll figure it out when I get there, but I’m currently considering The Wind Rises, Ponyo, or something lesser known like Porco Rosso or My Neighbors the Yamadas.
  5. Shrek – It’s a monster-filled month, with the first movie about a (lovable) ogre named Shrek!
  6. Shrek: The Musical – I thought it would be interesting to see an animated movie ACTUALLY brought to life in the form of a musical. I’ve watched the first 20 minutes, and suffice it to say, I will have a lot of things to talk about regarding this one.See you soon!
Leave a Reply

