Posted in Animated Movies

Brought to Life: Alvin and the Chipmunks Meet the Wolfman (and also Frankenstein)

This will probably be a short review, because there’s not really too much to say about these movies. I’m reviewing two movies, actually – Alvin and the Chipmunks Meet the Wolfman and Alvin and the Chipmunks Meet Frankenstein. 

I remember watching these when I was little. There’s definitely an appeal to Alvin and the Chipmunks, being the cute little furry creatures they are. These movies definitely have a place in my childhood (in contrast to the just-okay live-action/CG hybrid films), and yet I think even as a kid I wasn’t super big on these movies.

The narratives are pretty rote – Alvin and his brothers end up meeting fantastical creatures like the Wolfman and Frankenstein and they end up affecting their lives in one way or another. Spoilers – Frankenstein becomes a friend and Theodore gets scratched by a werewolf. Hijinks ensue. Some songs are sung. It ends on a positive note and a fun little chipmunk ditty. The end.

If this post is a bit boring, I apologize, but that’s mostly how I felt watching these films. As a young adult, these movies just don’t appeal to me like they used to. The animation held up pretty well, surprisingly, as did the dialogue and humor, which were admittedly pretty funny. The plot, itself, however, became so rote to me that it became hard to enjoy. I know this is more of a personal bias than anything, because at the end of the day, I’d definitely say that for kids, these movies would be worth watching once and would indeed be a fun time, especially around Halloween, because it’s more of a silly kind of horror. But the key words are “for kids”.

Leave a Reply

